PG in Zoology-NSOUPG in Zoology-NSOU

PG in ZoologyNSOU



Phone: (033)-2337 4761 E-mail:

About our Study Centre:

The study centre (Centre Code: I-09) of NetajiSubhas Open University (NSOU) for the Personal Contact Programme (PCP) has been established at the Department of Zoology of Bidhannagar Collegein the year 2007. The course conducted in this study centre is the Post Graduate Degree Programme (Master of Science) in Zoology (PGZO) for two years. The admission process in this course is centralized and conducted by NSOU itself based on merit and counselling.Faculty members (University approved) from different Government Colleges, Government-aided Colleges, and Universities are addressing PG classes regularly on every Sundays and also on saturday and holidays (if possible). The total student intake capacity in this study centre for PG Zoology programme is 25 per year. It imparts quality educations through ODL mode.Many students completing post graduation from here are well placed in different sectors and onthe Research Fellowships schemeof Government.

Classes are scheduled all throughout the year.Registration, renewal of studentship, form fill-up of examination and publication of results are carried out online and conducted by the University itself. Study materials are made available to the students in both hard and soft formats. NSOU carries out a radio program to spread awareness regarding different courses offered by it, known as-'Gyanbani'.

Faculty members (as Counsellors) are engaged in the following activities:

  • Taking both theory & practical classes as Personal Contact Programme of PGZO.
  • Examination duty during the Term-end examination conducted by the university.
  • Evaluations of Assignments and examination scripts of Term-end examinations.

Presently, NSOU-Bidhannagar College study centre is successfully running with the following staff members in various positions likeCentre-in-Charge, Academic Coordinator, Laboratory Assistant, Office Assistants, Laboratory Attendant and one post each of Darwan, Bearer, Security Guard, and Sweeper.

Succession List of Principals and Academic Coordinators:

Principals Academic Coordinators
Prof. Dipak Ranjan Mandal Prof. Dipak Roy
Dr. Asthir Dasgupta Prof. Dipak Roy
Dr. Asthir Dasgupta Mr. Anup Duttagupta
Dr. Asthir Dasgupta Dr. Susanta Nath
Dr. Debesh Roy  Dr. Susanta Nath
Dr. Prabir Kumar Das Dr. Susanta Nath
Dr. Manimala Das Dr. Susanta Nath
Dr. Subhas Chandra Jana Dr. Susanta Nath
Dr. Subhas Chandra Jana Dr. Biswatosh Ghosh
Dr. Madhumita Manna Dr. Biswatosh Ghosh
Mr. Tapomay Das Dr. Biswatosh Ghosh
Dr. Saurabh Chakraborti Dr. Biswatosh Ghosh
Dr. Saurabh Chakraborti Dr. Suman Bej
Prof. Nimai Chandra Saha Dr. Suman Bej


Syllabus for PGZO of NSOU


For more information, visit

Our Glimpses
Contact Info
  1. Bidhannagar College,
    EB-2, Sector 1, Salt Lake, Kolkata,
    West Bengal, India – 700 064
  2. +91-(033)-2337 4761