Dept. of EconomicsDept. of Economics
Dept. of Economics


Economics Department since its inception in 1986 is one of the main constituent departments of this college and is well renowned for the performance of the students. At present the department has a total of five faculty members. The academic environment of this department prepares our students to groom for life ahead. The aim is to produce students who are ready for the opportunities in the market, be it a desired to pursue Post-Graduate courses in Economics in reputed institutions in India or be it jobs in corporate sector or public sector. Many of our Alumni have performed exceptionally well in Post-Graduate courses in ISI Kolkata, Delhi School Economics, JNU, CU, JU etc. Many of our Alumni have distinguished themselves in both academic and corporate sphere across the country and the world.


Designation : Associate Professor & HoD.
Qualification : M.Sc., M.Phill., Ph.D.
Specialization : Economics, Econometrics
Research Interest : Macroeconomics, Public Finance,
View Profile

Designation : Associate Professor
Qualification : M.Sc., M.Phill., Ph.D.
Specialization : Statistics and Econometrics
Research Interest : Development economics
View Profile

Designation : Assistant Professor
Qualification : B.Sc., M.A., M.Phil, Ph.D.
Specialization : Trade and Agriculture
Research Interest : Trade and Agriculture, Efficiency
View Profile


Year of Passing Name Present Posistion
1991 Dr. Mousumi Dutta Associate Professor, Presidency University, Kolkata
1994 Dr. Arindam Bhattacharya Assistant Professor, Barasat Govt. College
2006 Mr. Souroneil Lahiri MSQE Indian Statistical Institute(Kolkata) Manager, ICICI Bank.(Business Intelligence Unit)
2006 Mr Anand Jindal M.A. Jadavpur University. Rank – First.  Actuary.
2006 Mr. Suvadip Chakraborty M.Sc. Delhi School of Economics. Assistant Manager HSBC Analytics(HDPI )
2007 Mr. Sidhartha Chakraborty M.Sc. Warwick Business School. U.K. Actuarial Consultant at Towers Watson.
2007 Ms Debanjana Dey M.Sc. Calcutta University. Ph.D. scholar at Calcutta University.
2007 Mr Somnath Sanyal M.Sc.(Calcutta University) Assistant Superintending officer (NSSO- Food)
2007 Ms. Meghna Dutta M.Sc.CalcuttaUniversity. Ph.D scholar at Centre for studies in social Science. Kolkata
2007 Mr Tanmoy Ganguly M.Sc Calcutta University. Ph.D Scholar at Jadavpur University. Contractual Lecturer Belur College.
2007 Ms.Koyel Chakraborty M.Sc. Calcutta University. Part Time Lecturer at S.A. Jaipuria College
2007 Ms.Priyanka Mukherjee MBA,XLRI (Jamshedpur) .Frost&Sullivan.
2007 Ms.Kusumita Karmakar MCA. McNally Bharat.
2007 Ms. Dipmala Deb M.Sc Calcutta University. Analyst TCS
2007 Dr. Hiranya Lahiri Assistant Professor at M.U.C. Women’s College, Burdwan. M.Sc. from Jawaharlal Nehru University. Rank – First. PhD from Jadavpur University
2007 Ms. Gopa Ghosh M.Sc. Calcutta University. M.Phil. Jadavpur University. Research Associate,  Jadavpur University. Guest Faculty at Shibpur B.E. College
2008 Mr Roop Roy MSQE, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata; Business Analyst- Wipro Technology
2008 Mr Uddipan Banerjee MSQE, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata; Businesss Analyst at Accenture.
2008 Mr. Prabal Mazumdar MSQE, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata; Ph.D. Scholar at University of Minnesota. USA
2008 Ms. Sujana Kabiraj M.Sc. Delhi School of Economics. Ph.D. scholar at Louisiana State University. USA.
2008 Mr. Kingshuk Roy M.Sc. Jawaharlal Nehru University; M.Phil. (Jawaharlal Nehru University)
2009 Ms. Antara Rudra M.Sc. Delhi School of Economics. Business Analyst at Cognizant Technology Solution Hyderabad.
2009 Ms. Sudeshna Moitra M.Sc. Jawaharlal Nehru University.
2009 Ms. Somoshree Roy M.Sc. Jawaharlal Nehru University.
2010 Mr Ranajoy  Guha  Neogi Doing PhD from ISI; MSQE Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata; Rank –First.
2010 Prof. Supratik Guha Assistant Professor, Sahid Matangini Hajra College; M.Sc. from Jawaharlal Nehru University. M.Phil. from Calcutta University.
2010 Ms. Arunima Banerjee M.Sc. Delhi School of Economics. Business Analyst at GENPACT LLC
2010 Swastick Sen Chowdhury Doing PhD from Calcutta University; M.Sc. from Presidency College
2010 Ms.Madhurita Chakrobarty M.Sc. Madras School of Economics. Analyst –Citibank
2011 Ms. Bidisha Sinha Doing PhD in United States;  MSQE. Indian Statistical Institute (Kolkata)
2011 Ms Ankita Das M.Sc Jawaharlal Nehru University.
2011 Mr. Anabik Saha M.Sc Delhi School of Economics
2011 Ms Sanchari Debgupta M.Sc.  Symbiosis School of Economics
2011 Ms Priyanka Dey M.Sc.  Symbiosis School of Economics
2012 Mr Snehashis Mitra Research Scholar at Calcutta Research Group under Dr. Ranabir Samaddar; M.A. from Tata Institute of Social Science. Guwahati
                  2014 Nirmalya Nath Genpact (Recruited through Campus selection in Calcutta University). Doing M.Sc. from Calcutta University;
Our Glimpses
Contact Info
  1. Bidhannagar College,
    EB-2, Sector 1, Salt Lake, Kolkata,
    West Bengal, India – 700 064
  2. +91-(033)-2337 4761